League of Women Voters LaPorte County

The La Porte County League of Women Voters and the La Porte County Better Government Study Group are co-sponsoring an informational conference on Township Government on Saturday,November 17th, at the James Dworkin Student Services and Activities Complex at Purdue University Northwest, 1401 U.S. Highway 421 in Westville.  The featured trainer will be Deborah Driskell, Executive Director of the Indiana Township Association and Delaware Township Trustee in Hamilton County.  Current and newly elected Township Trustees are encouraged to bring their board members and other interested community members. It will begin at 8:30am and conclude at 11:30am.

Topics will include:

  • Things you really need to know about Township Government
  • Keeping it legal while denying township assistance
  • Update on merging townships
  • Best Practices for township government
  • Questions and Answers

Light refreshments will be served. There is no cost to attendees and no pre-registration is required.
The event is being co-sponsored by the La Porte County Better Government Study Group and the League of
Women Voters of La Porte County.

If you need more information or have questions, please contact
Jo Ann Engquist, League of Women Voters of LaPorte County at jaenquist@comcast.net or 219-874-9939 or
Jim Jessup, La Porte County Better Government Study Group at jimjessup@frontier.com or 219-797-4407

The Role and Outlook for Township Government, Trustees, and Board Members

Conference on Saturday, Nov. 17 from 8:30 am to 11:30 am at Purdue Northwest Westville Campus

  •  Township Trustees, Board members, and interested community citizens of La Porte County