Saturday. March 17th, 8:30-11:30 am PNW

David Bottorf, Executive Director of the Association of Indiana Counties (AIC), and Jacque Clements, Director of Professional Development and Corporate Relations for AIC will be the featured speakers at a conference on the organization and structure of county government to be held on Saturday, March 17 at the Dworkin Student Services and Activities Center at Purdue University Northwest Westville Campus. 

Mr. Bottorf has headed the AIC since 2004, and prior to that he was Legislative Director for the AIC and served as a member of the staff for the Indiana House of Representatives for more than ten years prior to that.  

Prior to joining the Association, Ms. Clements served as a county auditor in two counties, a county recorder, and then served as a member of the Indiana House of Representatives   The conference will begin with an overview of the organization and structure of county government and will then explore the role, function and interaction of county commissioners, council members and other elected officials in governing a county.   There will also be a session on the elections process for county government which will cover required qualifications, terms of office, role of political parties, etc.   

 Sponsored by the League of Women Voters of La Porte County, the La Porte County Better Government Study Group, the La Porte County Chapter of the NAACP and Leadership La Porte County, it is open to the public without charge.  Jim Jessup, Co-Chairman of the Better Government Study Group noted that this conference is the third in a series of educational opportunities to provide opportunities to learn more about local government and opportunities for citizen involvement.  “We are grateful that the Association of Indiana Counties is providing the faculty for this conference and that Purdue University Northwest is making it possible for us to meet in the Dworkin Center,” Jessup said.

The session begins at 8:30am and will conclude by 11:30am.  Advance registration is not required.

For Additional Information, Contact
•    League of Women Voters of La Porte County: Jo Ann Engquist, (219) 874-9939 or  
•    La Porte County Better Government Study Group: Leigh Morris, 219-363-2294 or
•    La Porte County Chapter, NAACP: Wes Scully, (219-878-2014 or   
•    Leadership La Porte County: Monica Komasinski, (219) 325-8223 or

“This is a well-timed conference, along with upcoming candidate forums, to help voters to prepare for the decisions they will make when they cast their ballots in the next election.” 

       --Jo Ann Engquist, President,

       La Porte Co. League of Women Voters

Jacque Clements,
Director, Professional Development and
Corporate Relations, Association of Indiana Counties

David Bottorf
Executive Director
Association of Indiana Counties


League of Women Voters LaPorte County